Level of Testing

2.7/5 - (3 votes)

Level of Testing

Table of Contents

What are the different levels of testing?

Software testing is necessary for the software development process. The whole process of testing software and applications to evaluate the functionality of the developing software products. Software testing ensures developing software meet user or client requirements.

Following are the different levels of testing. Various levels of testing software must be carried out before it is delivered to the user.

These levels are:

  1. Unit Testing
  2. Integration Testing
  3. System Testing
  4. Acceptance Testing

Let’s talk about each level of testing in detail.

Unit Testing

Unit testing is the first level of testing in which a single module of the software is tested. Unit testing is mostly performed by the developer of the software to ensure the functionality of the developed module. Unit testing ensures the developing software works as expected and according to the requirement. Unit testing is performed under a white box testing technique. Developers write test cases for each module and execute test cases to check whether the module working fine or not.

By performing unit testing bugs in the code are identified in the early stage of the software development.

Integration Testing

Integration testing is the second level of testing. In integration testing, two or more different units or modules of the software are integrated and tested. The main goal of integration testing is to check whether the integrated modules work together as expected. In integration testing, communication and exchange of data between different modules are tested. Once the unit testing is done, integration testing is performed. Integration testing is done under the black box testing technique.

For integration testing, different approaches can be used.



Sandwich testing (combination top down and bottom-up )

System Testing

System testing is the 3rd level in software testing. Complete software testing is executed in system testing. Both functional and non-functional testing perform to verify the software functionality. Software Tester performs system testing.

Acceptance Testing

Acceptance testing is the last level of testing. Acceptance testing is performed to make sure the software is acceptable to the end user or client. Acceptance testing aims to test whether the software is ready to deliver to the user or not.

In conclusion, software testing is an essential aspect of software development. It ensures that the developed software applications are of high quality, reliable, and meet the expected requirements.

By following the best practices and using the right tools and techniques, software testing can be made more efficient and effective.